Posted by: Standing Solus Christus | July 24, 2006

Two Sources

Before we move on to today’s subject I’d like to describe a little experiment I performed this weekend.  Since we obtained annual passes for Disneyland, we have visited the theme park 4 times since last November. Disneyland is the epitome of the human pursuit of amusement (not that there is anything wrong with having some fun once in a while), however too much amusement is probably unhealthy.  After listening to a lecture a while ago, I learned that amusement literally means “no thinking”.  On my previous visits it would hit me once in a while that I had not been thinking for the past few hours.  It’s nice to have fun and get your mind off the cares of this world, but for an extended period of time my mind was solely focused on self-gratification.  This time I chose to do a little experiment. 

Since we have little ones they cannot go on all of the rides that the older children can go on.  My wife and I take turns watching the little ones while the other goes on the ride with the older children.  Rather than sit idly by for 30 minutes to an hour with the kids do nothing I brought some reading material, since reading is the exact opposite of no thinking.  Man, it was a struggle to get my mind out of the no thinking mode into a reading mode.  I almost failed, but was ultimately successful and managed to read a couple of articles from Tabletalk that I had wanted to read about the Churches struggle against Liberalism in the 1920s.  (Please note I didn’t neglect the little ones, I’ve acquired a skill of being able to read and pay attention to them at the same time.) 

Today we will begin an overview of Article 2 of the Belgic Confession, which affirms our belief that there are two sources of knowledge of God.  These two sources are General and Special revelation.  The Article states the following:

We know him by two means:  First, by the creation, preservation and government of the universe, since that universe is before our eyes like a beautiful book in which all creatures, great and small, are as letters to make us ponder the invisible things of God: his eternal power and his divinity, as the apostle Paul says in Romans 1:20.  All these things are enough to convict men and to leave them without excuse.  Second, he makes himself known to us more openly by his holy and divine Word, as much as we need in this life, for his glory and for the salvation of his own.

We have touched on this topic before in our review of God’s attributes.  In the next few entries, however we will take a closer look at this topic 

Leave a Reply

Categories

