Posted by: Standing Solus Christus | May 9, 2008

John 6:35-47: Text, Introduction and Purpose

TEXT: John 6:35-47

35Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst. 36But I said to you that you have seen me and yet do not believe36But I said to you that you have seen me and yet do not believe. 37All that the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never cast out. 38For I have come down from heaven, not to do my own will but the will of him who sent me. 39And this is the will of him who sent me, that I should lose nothing of all that he has given me, but raise it up on the last day.

40For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.”

41So the Jews grumbled about him, because he said, “I am the bread that came down from heaven.” 42They said, “Is not this Jesus, the son of Joseph, whose father and mother we know? How does he now say, ‘I have come down from heaven’?” 43Jesus answered them, “Do not grumble among yourselves. 44No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draws him. And I will raise him up on the last day. 45It is written in the Prophets, ‘And they will all be taught by God. ‘Everyone who has heard and learned from the Father comes to me— 46not that anyone has seen the Father except he who is from God; he has seen the Father.  47Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes has eternal life.

INTRODUCTION AND PURPOSE

 

It is the task of this work to examine the above-mentioned text in order to further appreciate its meaning and its implications as God’s revealed word.  In fulfilling this task it will be the burden of this work to endeavor in a comprehensive analysis of this portion of God’s inspired word (2 Tim 3:16).  The analysis’ that will be employed, in this task of elucidation, will include a literary analysis of the text, a historical analysis of the text and a theological analysis of the text. It is a goal of this work to provide a proper balance of these three categories in assessing the text, which will hopefully facilitate the acquisition of a more robust understanding of God’s inerrant word of truth. 

 

In the Scriptures, the complete rule of faith is found within the books of the Old and New Testaments.  This rule provides the measure, by which all beliefs are to be derived and affirmed.  Thus, it is prudent for the Christian to examine the Scriptures to discern their meaning and implications which are authoritative for belief and practice.  An appropriate assessment of the context of the written word will foster a more accurate and precise understanding of the specific text in review.  The intent of this work will be to set the context of the pericope noted above literarily, historically, and theologically.

 

The ultimate goal of this work will be to bring glory to God and bring others into a greater understanding of the Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.  Fortunately, the scope of this text lends itself particularly to the fulfillment of this goal in emphasizing Jesus’ earthly mission.  The text revolves around a discussion about this earthly mission, which is characterized by the redemption of sinners from death to life.  This redemption is set within a covenantal context that includes the cooperation of all three members of the Trinity to accomplish.  It is this covenant that will establish the basis for the mission, which predominates’ the content of the discourse between Jesus and the Jews.  Although, there are some who reject the notion that there is a pactum salutus (Covenant of Redemption) in Scripture, a proper understanding of this text is deficient apart from the acknowledgement of this intratrinatarian covenantal agreement1.  Thus, it is the burden of this work to demonstrate that in this text the convergence of all three members of the Trinity, and their respective roles in the Covenant of Redemption (CoR), are revealed.

Responses

  1. hmmn…

  2. Welcome to Standing Solus Christus. I am curious is your comment made in the tone of interest or disgust of the topic?

    The next post on this topic will occur tomorrow.

    S2C


Leave a Reply

Categories

