Posted by: Standing Solus Christus | June 15, 2006

Christ Created All Things

The creation is a remarkable testimony to the reality that God is.  The only reasonable answer to the question of “why are we here?” is that there must be a God who created all things.  Today we consider the fact that the testimony of Scripture is that Christ created all things.  When you consider the last two topics along with today’s you can see that the doctrine of the deity of Christ is strongly supported by Scripture.  Nonetheless, let us resume with citing the biblical basis for this claim.  We find support for this in the following passages:

In the following passages we taught that Christ was at the beginning of creation: 

John 8:58-59:  Jesus said to them, "Truly, truly, I say to you, before Abraham was, I am." So they picked up stones to throw at him, but Jesus hid himself and went out of the temple. 

John 17:5:  And now, Father, glorify me in your own presence with the glory that I had with you before the world existed.

In the following passages we are taught that Christ actually created the world:

Hebrews 1:10-12:  And, "You, Lord, laid the foundation of the earth in the beginning, and the heavens are the work of your hands; they will perish, but you remain; they will all wear out like a garment, like a robe you will roll them up, like a garment they will be changed.[aBut you are the same, and your years will have no end."

John 1:2-3:  He was in the beginning with God.  All things were made through him, and without him was not any thing made that was made.

Colossians 1:16-17:  For by[a] him all things were created, in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities–all things were created through him and for him. 17And he is before all things, and in him all things hold together. 

As we can see from our last few entries the tension within Scripture is enormous.  On the one hand, we indisputably are taught that there is only one God.  On the other hand, we are taught that Jesus Christ is God, yet not the God the Father.  Tomorrow we will cover one additional similar tension then move-on to the conclusion of the matter.


Responses

  1. When you really dive into this study we find it easier to comprehend. Realizing that Heavenly Father gave Christ/Jehovah power and authority to do these things. He was assisting Christ to become like His Father in heaven, as we will also be able to progress. The scripture does say we can become like Him….

  2. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to
    say that I’ve really loved surfing around your weblog posts. After all I will be subscribing in your feed and I’m hoping you write once more very soon!

  3. Remarkable! Its really remarkable post, I have got much clear idea regarding from
    this article.

  4. Your style is unique in comparison to other folks I have
    read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity,
    Guess I’ll just book mark this page.

  5. {
    {I have|I’ve} been {surfing|browsing} online more than {three|3|2|4} hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. {It’s|It is} pretty worth enough
    for me. {In my opinion|Personally|In my view}, if all {webmasters|site owners|websi

  6. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you
    writing this write-up and the rest of the website is also very good.


Leave a comment

Categories